Perry Winston Scholarship
March 30, 2020 UPDATE: 
Please note that both the Perry Winston Scholarship 2020 Application deadline and the MATA Scholarship Application Deadline are changed to May 15th, 2020. To apply, send a pdf file of your complete application to If you have any questions, you can communicate with us at the same email address.
The Rotary Club of Leesburg Perry Winston Scholarship is an annual scholarship awarded to seniors from Loudoun County HS, Tuscarora HS, or Heritage HS who have been accepted to an accredited college, university or community college. Each year, three $10,000 scholarships, including one dedicated to a student in the Pathway to the Baccalaureate program, are awarded. The criteria for the scholarship are: demonstrated community service, academic achievement, and financial need. All applicants are required to complete a 500 word essay and participate in a personal interview if selected as a finalists.
The story of our scholarship starts with Mr. Perry Winston, a Rotarian and prominent Leesburg banker who was instrumental in starting several other significant scholarship programs including the largest scholarship in Loudoun County, the Hess Scholarship, and the Marian Simpson Scholarship created in honor of the wife of J. Lupton Simpson, of whom a Leesburg Middle School was named.
At a Rotary dinner meeting, Perry Winston, Joe Kelly, Cliff Bullard and Jim Dennison, incoming president, discussed the scholarship needs. Cliff Bullard suggested that it would be beneficial to have Rotary sponsor a scholarship. The group agreed to meet in the board room at the Peoples National Bank to discuss its startup. In 1985, at Perry's request the Rotary Board approved the Leesburg Rotary Scholarship Fund. This was chartered in December 1985, and on December 31, 1985 the fund was officially incorporated by the State Corporation Commission. The original intent was to create an endowment large enough to fund the scholarships from the earnings off the principal.
Original funding was contributed by Perry Winston and two anonymous Rotarians. Through the years, other generous Rotarians, such as Ellen Wall, past owner of the Laurel Brigade Inn, contributed to growing our principal. Upon her death, Ellen made a large bequest to the fund that has helped us in providing many scholarships to future students.
The first president of the Scholarship Fund was Jim Dennison and officers were Dean Worcester, George Roberson, Tom Horne, and Paul Smith. The first two recipients were Gary Caton and Tonya Stevens, both from Loudoun County High School. These first two scholarships were each $1,500. In 1990, the scholarship amount was increased to $2,500 per student.
Past presidents have included Jim Dennison, Perry Winston, Joe Kelly, Jeff Mitchell, Ilhami Konur and Ernie Carnevale. The current president is Valerie Beaudoin with Phil Daley as vice-president, Tony Aiken as treasurer and Ron Rogos as secretary. Members of the committee are Tom Gates, Ernie Carnevale, Ron Rogos, Chuck Maloney, Carole Maloney, Jeff Mitchell, Wiley Russell, Fred Williams, Katie Gould, Steve Chapin, Howard Moody, Frances Cox, Ed Good, Chris Mallin, and John Whisler. The current president of the Rotary Club automatically sits on the Scholarship Fund Board of Directors. The board meets monthly at the home of Tony Aiken.
If you would like to support the Perry Winston Scholarship, you can use the button below to donate, or contact us at